Sigma Xi Chapter Annual Symposium and Awards Banquet

The local chapter of Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society, held its annual awards banquet in April and presented several awards to faculty and staff.

Recipients were Samuel Traina for Distinguished Research Administrator, Michael Spivey for Distinguished Scientist, and Roger Bales for Science Communicator Award. President's awards were given to Richard Miller for outstanding leadership and to Leslie Teixeira for distinguished service. A distinguished service award also was presented to Teenie Matlock, 2008-09 chapter president. Four Central Valley school teachers were presented awards for their inspirational instruction in science and math.

New Sigma Xi officers were announced: Christopher Viney, president; Tony Westerling, vice president; Henry Forman, secretary; Wei-Chun Chin, treasurer; and Traina, executive director. The banquet followed the Sigma Xi Spring Symposium, which Viney organized and chaired.

The symposium was well attended by students, faculty and staff. The topic was "Biomimicry: Nature's Lessons for a Sustainable Future", and speakers were Tim McGee of the Biomimicry Guild, Craig Vierra of University of the Pacific, and Michelle Khine of UC Merced.